On our journey to You

image

Hello on Monday! My normal time to sit, meditate, and write is the Lord’s Day. SON day. We don’t worship the created sun, but the Son who created all things.

Colossians 1:15-16…Random thought for you…

At this moment I’m using public wifi, waiting for my husband to get done with his pain management appointment.

It’s been a terrible weather weekend. I mention that because we’re not in control of this journey, as much as we schedule and plan.

More than a dozen lives journeyed into eternity in the past twenty four hours due to this nasty weather. Tornadoes tore through the South.

As I was listening to Psalm 84 set to music during our ride to the doctor, I was reminded of the journey, the bigger pilgrimage we’re on. Today matters. What I say. What I do. What I believe and think.

Expect tears on the journey. “Many are the afflictions of the righteous.” Psalm 34

We all have to pass through this valley of weeping. I need to find a way to make these tears a well of living water to encourage others on their pilgrimage.

The tears are very close to spilling from my eyes these days.

A friend at church yesterday told me her dear childhood friend lay dying alone  in a hospital far away. She couldn’t be there with her due to distance and money. Her friend has no family to be with her in the valley of the shadow.

Dying alone. I couldn’t hold back the tears.

If you’ve ever sat by the deathbed of someone you dearly love, you will understand. You want to BE there. You breathe your love to them — God’s love in Christ for them.

My friend and I wept together. Then we praised God. The dying friend had Jesus.

She was on her journey to JOY eternal.

So close. So perfect. The pain is so temporary. Her lonely life was about to be ablaze with His presence.

Being there to weep with my friend and to promise her prayer support was one huge reason for attending church.

I almost didn’t make it. It was another of those bone-weary morning wake-ups. I just did not want to roll out of bed. God tugged at my heart. “Seek My face.”

Seek to see His power and glory every day. His glory is revealed to those who love Him. Romans 8:28-32.

If you seek Him, You will find Him. His promises are rock solid.

There’s no sugar-coating it. Caregiving is hard. Loneliness rears its ugly head. You have to plan on purpose not to be tangled up in the endless cycle of self-pity and loneliness.

Don’t go this journey alone! You need God’s people to journey with you. No matter how little they understand your path, you have Jesus in common. There is a reason God instructs us not to forsake the assembling of ourselves together.

Psalm 84 mentions temple worship with God’s people in His presence.

“Better is one day in Your courts than thousands elsewhere.”

Strength for our journey comes from spending time in His courts remembering who He is.

This week, plan to journey to His courts -to His house- on the Lord’s Day.

If you seek Him, He will be found, and He loves the company of His saints.

Another random meditation. How can it be that God would love to spend time with me? But He does. His Word assures me again and again.

“Keep me as the apple of Your eye. Hide me under the shadow of Your wings.”

This life I live, I cannot live without His love. I pray this finds you fleeing to the shadow of His wings today.

Leave a Reply

