The New “Normal”

Life is a pilgrimage of varying lengths.

This week I watched my daughter’s heart break. Not for the first time. Not for the last. Over the past month she anticipated the arrival of her new kitten as Maggie-moo, the momma cat, grew rounder. Last Sunday she was by my side as I coaxed momma cat through the final stages of labor. One large kitten emerged. An only kitten for an only child seemed so appropriate.

Every day this week she visited her kitten at Grandma’s. She watched him nurse, sleep, and squeak in tiny, adorable mews. She was in love. But it breathed its last breath, no one knows why, and Grandma called with the news. Watching your child suffer is, well, torture.

You and I know this pilgrimage is hard!

If you are reading this blog, I can only imagine the reason is that you have something very hard in your life that your are facing. Who else would read it!?! Suffering is not a favorite, popular topic. Most of us would rather avoid talking about the pain in our lives.  If we could take the suffering away for our children and loved ones, we would! What do I tell my girl when she wonders why?

Sorrow and suffering began in a garden.

Satan is the number one culprit, but Adam and Eve also ruined God’s perfect, beautiful world. If you are a Bible-reader, the beginnings of life on earth is a familiar truth. Genesis 1 and 2 are full of so much life and joy. Every single thing is good: plants, creatures, man, and woman. My heart cringes when I read chapter 3. I hide in shame and sorrow with Adam and Eve.

He has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows.

“He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our iniquities; the chastisement for our peace was upon him, and by His stripes we are healed.” Isaiah 53:4-5. Unlike all the mythical gods ever imagined in the minds of men, our God does not leave mankind alone in his misery.  He redeems His children through the voluntary death of His only beloved Son Jesus. “For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.” 2 Corinthians 5:21

“Behold, I make all things new.”

Hold on! Wait for it! And when it comes you will SURELY know because John of Revelations 21:2-5 writes, ” I heard a LOUD voice from heaven saying, ‘ Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and He will dwell among them, and they shall be His people. God himself will be with them and be their God. And God shall wipe every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more sorrow, nor death, nor crying. There shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away’. And He who sat on the throne said, ‘Behold, I will make all things new’. And He said to me, ‘Write, for these words are TRUE and faithful’.”

Remember, there is a new day coming!

Revelation 20 is not where you want to be. In what chapter do you find your future life unfolding? You can experience redemption! Love and hope are possible. This old troubled world will come to an end.  I wish I could take away all my daughter’s hurts and woes. But I can point her to Jesus as long as I have breath. He will bear her griefs and sorrows with her in a way that I cannot. The same is true for you, my friend.

 

 

Leave a Reply

