Week 2: Don’t Let My Mind Fall In the Sewer (a.k.a., …”lead us not into temptation”)

 

“Your mind is a sewer, and only Jesus can keep the lid on it.”

A crowd of restless, hormonal teens were listening so intently that you could almost hear the war raging inside of them. This was NOT the message that pop culture constantly flooded them with. As the older, wiser, twenty-something counselor,  even I held my breath and bowed my heart under the truth of my inner sinfulness. What I did not know was how many times this little phrase would convict me, and help me stay the course with the light of Scripture to guide me.

But when you got married, you didn’t sign up for celibacy, right?

I’m right there with you. Most likely, your spouse didn’t sign up for chronic illness either.  Cancer, illness, and injury all stem from the effects of death entering the world after the fall of man in the garden. And, no, I am not advocating a celibate marriage. All too often chronic illness robs marriage of many things, sex life included.

Christ was in ALL points tempted, yet He did not sin.

Think about it with reverence and awe. Quite clearly, Christ was single, and was tempted to sin in this area. Thirty-three years of vibrant manhood, and he did not cave in to temptation in body or mind. If you are His child you are a joint-heir with Jesus, and His divine power is able to keep you from falling.

Three powerful ways to keep from falling:

  1. Flee temptation! Like Joseph in Egypt, leave your very garment behind, because Satan still is in the business of ruining lives. Think of those whom you would devastate by your unfaithfulness. Keep the sewer lid closed by avoiding books, movies, and music that would fan the flames of unfulfilled desire. Get out of Dodge!
  2. Cry out to God in prayer! “God, help me in Jesus name.”  Think of Christ sweating blood in Gethsemane in agonizing prayer. Ask for cleansing. (I John 1:9) When a lurid thought crosses your mind, send it back to hell where it belongs. You are a beloved daughter of the King. You don’t need Satan’s junk food.
  3. “Love the Lord YOUR God with all your mind.” Find time in His Word daily. Jesus defeated Satan after 40 days in the wilderness by answering with God’s Word. Remember His Day to keep it holy. When we give one day in seven to the Lord, He meets us and strengthens us through the Word to face this sinful world. Delight in the beauty of God’s lovely world, art, beautiful music — whatever is good, true, and lovely.

Did I mention prayer already? Find a prayer partner. Ask for prayer. Pray for a prayer partner. With a sewer in our minds and a battle every time we face the world, we need some serious prayer coverage,  you and I. If you comment here, I really do pray for you. Pray for me. I’ll take all the prayers I can get.

2 thoughts on “Week 2: Don’t Let My Mind Fall In the Sewer (a.k.a., …”lead us not into temptation”)

  1. Thank You, Thank You……I have been looking for a LONG time, My husband has IPF(lung disease and the only cure is a lung transplant !!!) Pray,Pray,Pray for Harrison for a lung and for me for stamina…this is a LOT harder then I initially thought…..ntp

    Like

    • Nancy, it IS hard! That is why I wrote about it. But Jesus himself bore this cross, and we can follow in His footsteps. Hard things with His grace and power will become gloriously good in His Presence. Praying for you! Be strong! Hugs… And if you want to talk to someone who is a two time lung transplant survivor, I can pass along your information. She is a gift to me, a true friend who has walked a hard road.

      Like

Leave a Reply

