Judgment that will bring JOY!

” Yet if anyone suffers as a Christian, let him not be ashamed, but let him glorify God in this matter.” ( I Peter 4:16)

Care-giving spouses , those who are true believers, are committed to their marriages. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to know that marriage is under assault.  Someone I know recently lost  their marriage due to their own chronic illness.  The media messages bombard us with thoughts that “you deserve better”,  “life is what you make it”, and “make your own happiness”  regardless of whom you trample on along the way.

Eleven-plus years of marriage to an unemployed, chronically ill man whose illnesses are painful, discouraging, and demoralizing is not what I signed up for!  But when Christ called me out of darkness into His marvelous loving light, I received love I didn’t deserve and forgiveness I could never repay. In my marriage, I have an every single day opportunity to love without repayment.

I could abandon my marriage and probably find fun, fulfillment, and lots of the “pleasures of sin” for a season.  But I know this truth; you reap what you sow (eventually, if not in this life, in eternity for certain).  Temporary pleasures vs. eternal rewards?  Seems like a no-brainer to me.  Easy? Fun?  Not by a long shot!  There are certainly days when I wonder how much longer I can do this, days when I just don’t want to do this at all, anymore, or ever again!

When you are tempted to look elsewhere for joy, companionship, and just a bit of normal, marital fun,  remember Who has promised never to leave or or forsake His own.  Maybe we wives of the chronically ill will show this mixed up world what true love looks like. Maybe they will see in our every day commitment  the covenant love that God has promised His own down the the annals of history.

“But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while, perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you.  To Him be the glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen”  (I Peter 5:10-11)

The last judgment will be a judgment that will bring joy to all true believers. They will hear those precious words, ‘Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom;’ ” 

J. C. Ryle

Leave a Reply

