A Cloud of Witnesses

As I ponder my aunt’s life and sudden, unexpected passing this past weekend, what stands out most prominently in my memories is her persevering faith in all her many trials. For the past ten years she has been the primary caregiver for my elderly, wheel-chair bound grandmother.  Wives of chronically ill husbands find themselves in this position in varying degrees.  Her life has been an inspiration to me on my own pilgrimage.  I am thankful to have witnessed her faith personally over many years. For those who do not have a personal example, there is the cloud of witnesses mentioned in Hebrews 12:1, referring back to Hebrews 11.  History even up to the present is replete with examples of trusting and obeying God in the toughest of times.

“The better God is known the more He is trusted. Those who know Him to be a God of infinite wisdom will trust Him further than they can see Him (Job 35:14); those who know Him to be a God of almighty power will trust Him when creature confidences fail and they have nothing else to trust to (2 Chronicles 20:12); and those who know Him to be a God of infinite grace and goodness will trust Him though He slay them, Job 13:15. Those who know Him to be a God of inviolable truth and faithfulness will rejoice in His word of promise, and rest upon that, though the performance be deferred and intermediate providences seem to contradict it. Those who know Him to be the Father of spirits, and an everlasting Father, will trust Him with their souls as their main care and trust in Him at all times, even to the end.” Matthew Henry, commentary on Psalm 9:10

Perhaps I will include some brief biographies in the future to encourage and inspire you. But ever and always, first seek your encouragement and hope from the pages of the Holy Scriptures.  I  have a hard time choosing my favorite Bible hero.  I think my favorites revolve around what is most challenging in my life at the moment. Ruth, I love because of her willing service and loyal love to Naomi. David, I love because he was a man after God’s own heart showing us how to express our love, fears, questions, and desires to the Almighty in the Psalms. Paul inspires me because of his courageous pioneer spirit, spreading the Word in the face of opposition. The list goes on. Who is your favorite hero? Who inspires your faith and why?

Leave a Reply

