Hope continually…

Today I saw the first signs of spring in my yard- unexpected numbers of daffodils poking up their first green shoots! Snow covered those spots all week and for a few days it was so cold we barely dared to set foot outside. My husband rescheduled his doctor’s appointment due to bitter cold and icy driving conditions. Now winter weariness is melting into the first buds of spring.

Spring is a season of hope! We have had to work hard fight despair this winter. Weeks of staph infection and heavy duty antibiotics turned into months and ramped up treatment with full body gamma radiation each week for my dear husband. It has been a bitterly cold winter for our area, and we are unable to afford to keep our home overly warm. Over and over we have reminded ourselves to “keep ourselves in the love of God”, knowing that He who is always faithful will never leave nor forsake us. Meanwhile, we have been grateful for many cups of hot tea, homemade cocoa, and fresh veggies and fruits amazingly available to us in the middle of winter!

Our trials have been light compared to some this winter. In the past month we have heard of the deaths of four infants in the circle of our church family and friends.  Friends lost a family member who was close to my age. We have wept and prayed that the Father of mercies and the God of all comfort would make Himself dear to these families.  The unbelievable persecutions and the losses of homes and lives of fellow believers in other parts of the world remind us to be grateful and to pray as well.

King David experienced the full gamut of life’s sorrows, struggles, and joys. Promised the throne of Israel , he had to wait many years in hiding to experience that promise. He finally had a palace full of children, wealth, riches, and honor. He sinned greatly and tarnished his good name. He repented and was restored and used of God. He had to flee his palace in Jerusalem and be pursued by the armies of his own ambitious, rebellious son.  The Psalms are replete with his cries to God for mercy and help in trouble.

Every wife of a chronically ill husband needs to find time to park herself in the book of Psalms.  I am convinced of that fact! 🙂 God has used this portion of His Word to drag me out of the mire of self-pity and despair more times than I can remember.  I would like to leave you with a word of purposeful hope from the divine Word.

“But I will HOPE continually, and I will praise You yet more and more. My mouth shall tell of Your righteousness and Your salvation all the day, for I do not know their limits.  I will go in the strength of the Lord GOD; I will make mention of Your righteousness, of Yours only.”  Psalm 71:14-16

3 thoughts on “Hope continually…

  1. I know I can get bogged down in my circumstances. …..but I am reminded all I have to do is look around and see just how BLESSED I am! !!!! Thank you for this post! This is my first time reading your blog. I am sitting in the hospital now with my husband BUT GOD IS GOOD! !!!! And we are BLESSED!
    G MERRITT

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for your prayers! Im so glad i found this website. I look forward to being able to read others post and be encouraged to hear how the Lord has helped them thru.

    Like

Leave a Reply

