A Shot in the Arm for Wives of Chronically Ill Husbands…

http://www.desiringgod.org/blog/posts/the-story-of-ian-larissa

Ladies,

Here is a link, a blog website with a video file that I highly recommend you listen to and read. The key message is that marriage for a Christian is a means to glorify Christ. Without Him, we can do nothing. Larissa chose to become wife to a chronically ill/disabled man. Very , very few of us made that choice. Instead, we found ourselves very reluctantly put into that position.

We NOW have a choice. Do I remain committed? Do I obey Christ by keeping my marriage covenant?  Do I remember that this life is only a temporary but important portal into the next, everlasting life?

We don’t want to remain parked in the “will I stay committed ” stage.  Like stages of grief, we need to move on. Christ speaks of a life of abundance and joy in His presence. Psalm 16:11  I loved Ian and Larissa’s Board of Gratitude!  I find myself repeatedly returning to this theme!  Philippians is a book written to suffering believers, and yet they are commanded to “rejoice in the Lord always, and again I say rejoice.”  There is ALWAYS, always, always something to be thankful for. The very air I breathe is a gift from God.  My level of deservedness is nothing.  God owes me nothing.   I, in fact, deserve His wrath, condemnation, and judgment.

If you have question about my previous statements, please do feel free to e-mail or comment. We are in this together, and should be willing to lend a listening ear and give a prayerful answer.

Leave a Reply

