What time I am afraid..

“What time I am afraid, I will trust in Thee.”  This has been a comfort verse for me since my childhood. I was one of those kids who could easily imagine a monster in my closet. When the Father drew me to Himself, fear found relief.  The Almighty, Unchangeable One is to be trusted.

Our thoughts get so mucked up in the mundane struggles. Finances often bring the biggest, gut-wrenching fears, yet I have seen the provision of the LORD time again in our married life.  So, why does the news that gas could reach $5.00 a gallon this summer send me into a tailspin? I should know better by now.  Reach for a promise, pray without ceasing, and give thanks for all things. I WILL trust. Obviously it is a daily decision, and a lesson that may take me a lifetime to learn.  If I were comfortably provided for by an able-bodied husband, perhaps I would not be learning this lesson so thoroughly?

3 thoughts on “What time I am afraid..

  1. God is our Jehovah-Jireh, our provider. He has provided for me so many times and in so many ways that I can’t begin to list them all. He will continue to provide for you as well. His provision never ceases to amaze me. Over the course of the year God provided the following for my family and I: a paid vaction to Washington state to visit family, a paid trip to Colorado to spend Christmas with my parents, a laptop for my writing and blog, a new dishwasher, a big screen tv, about $1500 that came to me anonymously in increments of $200 – $300 over the course of several months, hand-me-down clothes for me and both of my daughters that were in excellent condition, $100 cash givent o me by a visitor at church that I’ve never seen since, numerous bags of groceries, a dinette set with matching buffet, the list goes on and on. Some of the stuff God blessed us with weren’t even needs. They were just an outpouring of his love for us. Take heart friends, God can be your Jehovah-Jireh as well.

    Like

  2. This post was written 5 years ago, but I can so relate. Finances put me in a tailspin too. The loss of “financial security” is a big fear when the main family provider is out of commission. But it has gotten easier over the years once a track record of God’s faithfulness becomes established AND the fact that things don’t put me in a numbing shock anymore because we have been through so much. We should have lost our home several times by now and something always comes through. Now I know that EVEN if we lose our home, God will provide some other way (though I still try not to go there in my mind). There is grace for one day at a time.

    Like

    • Yes, I would say in some ways it has gotten easier, but I’m working harder than ever. It’s got to give some time. Last year we lost two cars in a three month time frame. God did provide, but we did some serious scrambling. Relief came when our church stepped in to help. We didn’t want to be in that position but long-term chronic illness is enormously expensive. God has provided for us in so many ways over the years, too. Better than we deserve!

      Like

Leave a Reply

