I heard a bird sing…

I heard a bird sing

In the dark of December

A magical thing

And sweet to remember:

“We are nearer to Spring

Than we were in September,”

I heard a bird sing

In the dark of December.

by Oliver Herford

Winter and summer are my husband’s least favorite seasons. Though his immune system is perpetually low, he always seems to hit his lowest in the winter.  I have to fight against personal dread of the winter  due to this. Knowing the Father of mercies, I am always on the hunt for the new “mercy of the day”.  My mom half teasingly, half seriously said that my life verse seems to be: “Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.”  Wherein, I do now respond, “His mercies are new every morning: his compassions fail not. Great is Thy faithfulness.”  I agree with the bird of Herford’s lovely little muse: “We are nearer to Spring than we were in September,”.

Leave a Reply

